Trying to go frugal

Today’s Bento:

Salad, cukes, avocado with Annie’s Goddess Dressing.

Orange

Pasta Salad

Chocolate covered marshmallow

This past week I’ve watched four episodes of Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution and the documentary No Impact Man. I love Jamie Oliver just for being so passionate about good food and trying to share that with other people, especially children. (I can’t wait to see how this all turns out!) No Impact Man, a film about a young family in NYC who try to leave no carbon footprint for a year, was also very thoughtful. These people really made some drastic changes to their lives and ended up being all the happier for it (local diet, no carbon fueled transportation, no electricity, laundry in the bathtub, etc.). I’ve also been reading about the One Dollar Diet Project, one couple’s attempts to feed themselves on a dollar a day each. All of this combined plus just moving and being stressed about finances equals very good incentive to make some big changes. This past week I worked hard to plan every single meal, make a list and stick to the plan all week. Result? We spent half of what we usually would on food this week! And we didn’t suffer at all. In fact there will be plenty of food for the rest of the week! It is a very satisfying feeling, and now when I get home from work I don’t have to think about what to make for dinner, I just look at my notes. And bento boxes are great, even leftover pasta salad looks pretty snazzy with a salad and an orange.

2 responses to “Trying to go frugal

  1. Very cool Jessica! I’m inspired to go read that book now too. It’s good to know you can make it work with some focused attention and effort 🙂

  2. jessicalovessmoothies

    I can mail you my copy to read, its probably not in libraries yet. Just send me a message on facebook with your address. 🙂

Leave a Reply

