Navy Beans

Today’s Bento:

Navy Bean Soup

Mixed Spring Greens

Fresh Red Peppers

Purple Cabbage

Annie’s Goddess Dressing

Orange

A few years ago I came across the blog of Kerri and Christopher called the The One Dollar Diet Project. It was fun to follow these two as they tried to eat on only a dollar a day each. I just read their book about the experience, and have since been inspired to make a better effort at buying in bulk. I generally make my meals fresh, from scratch, but I get lazy with beans. They really are much better cooked from dry, and it isn’t that hard as long as you remember to soak them overnight. So, here’s some soup from my big batch of Navy Beans (mmmmmm). I love’em cooked until they are melty. Next week: what should I do with Aduki beans???

Leave a Reply

